Tag Archives: kumbh mela

Ujjain Kumbha Mela – 2016

Date of Event : 22 April – 21 May, 2016

Kumbha Mela
Kumbha Mela

Special Bathing Dates of Ujjain Kumbh Mela- 2016

Purnima First Sahi Snaan (First Royal Holy Dip) 22 April 2016 (Friday)
Vratparv Vauthini Keadashi 03 May 2016 (Tuesday)
Vaishakh Krishna Amavasya (First Pramukh Snan) 06 May 2016 (Friday)
Shukla/Akshey Tritya (Second Pramukh Snan) 09 May 2016 (Monday)
Shukla Panchami 11 May 2016 (Wednesday)
Vrishabh Sankranti 15 May 2016 (Sunday)
Ekadashi & Pradosh Snan 17 May 2016 (Saturday)
Pradosh 19 May 2016 (Thursday)
Nursingh Jayanti 20 May 2016 (Friday)
Purnima Mukhya Shahi Snan (Main Royal Bath) 21 May 2016 (Saturday)

The first written evidence of the Kumbh Mela can be found in the accounts of Chinese monk Xuanzang (alternately Hsuan Tsang) who visited India in 629–645 CE, during the reign of King Harshavardhana. However, similar observances date back many centuries, where the river festivals first started getting organised. According to medieval Hindu theology, its origin is found in one of the most popular medieval puranas, the Bhagavata Purana. The Samudra manthan episode (Churning of the ocean of milk), is mentioned in the Bhagavata Purana, Vishnu Purana, the Mahabharata, and the Ramayana.

Visit Kumbha Mela

North India Tour Packages